My Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Exploring Author’s Fan Pages!

leave a comment »

The concept of an author’s fan page is new to me.  I began research on Amazon to find some links to FB fan pages!  I think it’s a great idea, and as I get closer to publication of my books, I will set up a fan page on FaceBook! 

I visited the FB fan page of John Shors, whose historical novel Under a Marble Sky (about the building of the Taj Mahal) we read in my Traveling Book Club about three years ago.  I like the personal tone of his fan page; he is very actively involved.  He has engaged book clubs in developing his success as an author, and I can see how close he feels to his followers.

I also read Phillipa Gregory’s author page on Amazon, another author whose work in historical novels I am familiar with.  Not surprisingly, her page is more formal; she’s a more formal writer.  Although born in Kenya, she was educated in Britain and is a very prolific writer!  Her author page on FB is a little more interactive with her fans, but still, has a stand-offish air.

Another favorite writer is Geraldine Brooks, author of A Year of Wonder, about the bubonic plague in 1666 England, and People of the Book, about the restoration of a (real) Jewish book of ritual and prayer whose distinctly atypical illustrations are explained by researching the book’s history.  She deftly works between characters in three times:  the Middle Ages, WWII and today.  I can see on her FB Author page that this is a good way to build interest in upcoming books and speaking engagements.

Another world has opened to me!

Written by bethkoz

March 2, 2013 at 8:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

